Vampire Diaries “Smells Like Teen Spirit”: It is not over when you are dead

Vampire Diaries got crowded this week and as ghost Vicki said it best “In a town full of vampires,werewolves and witches I’ll fit right in”. Elena is back as I know and love her, bad ass Elena. She is very wisely training with Alaric at 6 am to protect herself against vampires against Stephan to be exact… Whats is funny about that scene in the woods is Alaric’s out of control hair and the-Greendale-human-being-cousin-doll Elena was practicing on (shout out to NBC’s Community).

It is the first day of school and Stephan and Elena’s anniversary and as I hear Elena remember that it hits me, it has been a year, all that that happened throughout the past two seasons happened in one year and I really admire Elena for getting out of bed in the morning,I wouldn’t ,this is why I get upset when Elena is whiny because she is strong, she is no Bella and that is what I love about her.My friends claim that in this season Nina Dobrev who plays Elena over acts and I disagree,if there is something I am worried about with Elena is that with the gradually changing wardrobe and little more makeup she’ll blend with Katherine, and they will become the same actress, I hope that never happens.

This episode was an homage to the season’s pilot and I loved that,Elena coming out of the bathroom and bumping into Stephan and the bonfire it shows how far those characters have come, I didn’t like The Vampire Diaries the first 3 episodes of season one and I am glad I continued watching to see the error of my ways because now I can honestly say that Vampire Diaries gives me my drama fix for the week.

Damon surprisingly seemed like the only together person/vampire in this episode, now another thing I discussed with friend is the shift of roles between Stephan and Damon, they claim it is not realistic and again I disagree, I said it once and I will say it again, Damon is not bad and it will be boring if he had that one side to his character, Damon is impulsive he lets you know what he thinks, he is the most emotional and guarded one of the two brother she has always been the screw up and he is comfortable with that label , Stephan on the other hand himself to a high moral code that always weighed heavy on him and made him seem as kind of a buzz kill because unlike Damon he cares how other people see him, he is hard on himself and has a darkness in him that he fears, a real darkness that Damon talks about but never shows , Stephan never mentions his darkness but it can be seen in moments he lets his guard down. and what we see now is Stephan letting go of that moral code. In a nut shell this is not a change as much it is a revelation about the two characters which I think is brilliant.

The ghost story line continues to worry me because I don’t know exactly where it is going but then again when do I ever see a story line coming in Vampire Diaries, six episodes in and i have gasped and yelled out OMG more times than I can count, so even though I am a little scared I will trust the writers and watching this week’s episode helped me get to that state of mind because at least a little is being revealed and apparently even witches on the other side are hell-bent on killing Elena…poor Elena.

A little B story line that will eventually get to the A story is Rebekah’s (I caved and now that is how I spell her name) interest in Tyler and Tyler’s blind devotion to Klaus are getting on Caroline’s nerves and as Damon sees it there is one solution to the problem “Get a new boyfriend”. Elana’s plan to lock Stephan up seemed too easy to pull off, but I admire her dedication, she was out there in the bonfire party looking Stephan in the eye refusing to back down, and as she is busy getting “not sober”, Damon is trying to charm Rebekah but she is too smart to fall for it. Elena is drunk and let me just say I love drunk Elena, and she fakes falling from the bleachers as Stephan catches her as wee swoon over the exchanged glances Alaric shoots him in the back. Let me take a moment to recognize how amazing and awesome Alaric was in this episode, tortured fighting with Damon Alaric is awesome…how cute is it that Damon misses his friend when he says ” Are you ever gonna be not mad at me rick?“. On another note I wish everyone would stop calling him Rick, I love the name Alaric and Damon started using Rick to get on Alaric’s nerves now everyone is using it…NOT COOL. Now back to Stephan he gets trapped in the car with elena as Vicki sets the car on fire, Matt does the hardest thing he ever has to do which is let her go and put her back where she belongs…not here.

Elena’s is hurt and Damon is “medicating” her, Elena is really struggling with her feelings for Damon(Damon is not making it easy to not fall in love with) because she doesn’t know hat they are and she is a little ashamed that now that Stephan is gone she is eyeing his brother, before we saw Damon looking at Elena’s lips filled with desire, now it is Elena who’s doing all the looking. Standing ovation to the scene in the  weight room where Damon shows her exactly where to get to a vampire’s heart…the mention of Buffy made it better.

The cherry on top: Katherine wakes Michael up who is changed and refuses to drink human blood and just as you are thinking “Aww he doesn’t drink people he is the good guy” he ..um well…he eats Katherine. Michael feeds on vampires, so Klaus is running away because he is someone’s dinner. Chocolate sprinkles: as you are enjoying watching Damon clean up after Stephan, ghost Mason shows up and he does not look happy.

What is in store for next week? well looks like Mason is not the only ghost in town [SPOLIER] Lexi Stephan’s best friend makes a comeback and from the looks of it tries to help Elena “restore” Stephan…WHAAAAT?!

About lonestarjrs

Primary teacher who loves TV like crazy. I watch more TV a week than anyone i know. I usually have crazy pairings on TV that no one sees but me and a good eye for spoilers. Twitter account :http://twitter.com/#!/lonestarjrs

Posted on October 21, 2011, in TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

