Grimm Pilot Review: Sweet Dreams Turn Out To Be Meh

There is nothing I love more than girl jogging in the woods  and gets killed scene by something scene as her ipod is on the ground playing the Eurythmics “sweet dreams” ( if you don’t know it, then welcome to earth or you’re just too damn young). That is the opening scene so I got excited, paused to go get my tea ready because I love anything supernatural then came back fully commited to loving what I see…I didn’t

I think the story is interesting and I wished it wasn’t in modern times, I think late 19th century would have been a better and more expensive choice because the story is based on 19th century fairy tales by the Brothers Grimm, solving crime that involves supernatural beings which seems great but with NBC’s Grimm it was embellished a modern twist and as I said that modern twist made everything seem bland and forced. Now bear in mind that I was watching really bad video quality (serves me right for watching it before it airs) that might have something to do with the fact that I felt the visual effects were sloppy. I checked my Facebook page twice in the first half hour and that is not a good sign,what bothers me is the unlimited potential I see for the show and i might be eating my words later but I don’t think so. It is a good idea , they went to all the trouble of choosing the woods as a setting and casting David Giuntoli as detective Nick Burkhardt the young grimm detective who is supposed to be clueless but just ends up uninteresting as a character, the show is O.K but in a time of great TV it just doesn’t measure up.

Unless the show gets better with upcoming episodes I don’t se a bright future, I will not be watching and might be revisiting it over the Christmas Hiatus, the show is not horrible, it’s just boring.

See for yourself on NBC October 28th  Fridays at 9/8c (in case you are not out with your friends)

About lonestarjrs

Primary teacher who loves TV like crazy. I watch more TV a week than anyone i know. I usually have crazy pairings on TV that no one sees but me and a good eye for spoilers. Twitter account :http://twitter.com/#!/lonestarjrs

Posted on October 23, 2011, in TV and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s so funny how different people see different things! We loved the pilot! We did get to see it in high quality though, and we LOVED the visuals. Check out our review!

  2. I found it OKAY… I’m more of a crime/serial killer person though (Criminal Mind, CSI, etc.) Rather than supernatural. Do you know who does the cover of Sweet Dreams in the end of the episode in the hospital?? I loved it!!

  3. The hospital scene was Sweet Dreams by Marilyn Manson. Watch the video and never sleep again lol

Leave a Reply

