Whitney “Getting To Know You”: Blue Balls The Size Of A Basketball Game

Though Whitney doesn’t fit with the Thursday night line up and does not by any means match the comedic brilliance of Community, Parks and recreation and The office  I have to admit, I am starting to like Whitney. The story and jokes are repeated and what’s bringing me back is the fact that I can’t deny it’s funny and I especially have to recognize the comedic excellence of  Chris D’Elia who delivers every week. I am not denying that Whitney Cummings is funny, for me she is even adorable but she can be a little much sometimes and her material is all there for someone who is familiar of her stand up which can be a little boring because her jokes are about novelty as to say if you hear the joke again it will not be as funny. The comedy is about relationships, I know that, but what frustrates me is that there is no investment in supporting characters, they are commentators and audience, their life revolves around Whitney and Alex and seem to have very little going on in their lives.I don’t believe in unnecessary characters on any TV show because there are no unnecessary human beings and in comedy I prefer ensemble cast comedy than others. The story is the same every week though and I am not hating it but i see myself getting bored later, this week Whitney discovers that there are things about Alex that she did not know before; for example: Racket ball. she sets on playing racket ball with him so they can have shared hobbies together and ends up sucking at it then challenging him to a basketball game and beating him. the story is pretty safe as all Whitney’s stories, there is no way it will not be funny but it is not that great.It does not insult the viewers intelligence though, it know what it is and it’s very clear on its identity, so some people will hate it and others will love it but no one will be confused to what it is exactly.

About lonestarjrs

Primary teacher who loves TV like crazy. I watch more TV a week than anyone i know. I usually have crazy pairings on TV that no one sees but me and a good eye for spoilers. Twitter account :http://twitter.com/#!/lonestarjrs

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Pop culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

