Community Benched For Mid-season: NBC rides the bad decision train

I thought of posting the minute I heard the news but I couldn’t. NBC’s decision to bench Community and not include it in it’s mid season was tragic.It is in its core a business decision, Community does not have the ratings the network needs but that does not mean people are not watching Community. Community’s audience is mainly young viewers who watch it on Hulu,Netflix and itunes which are not included when the nelson ratings are calculated. Nothing has been set in stone yet NBC did not release a return date for Community but it is probably coming back in the spring maybe sometime in March which for me is an unbearable amount time to wait. The internet is going crazy with this new and if it has any indication it indicates how many fans Community has and even though I am reading those fans (including me) are being called annoying for loving the show TOO MUCH. well, there isn’t too much of love let me tell you that but the fans are so dedicated to the show for a reason, the show takes you into its private world, it is hard to watch Community and not get addicted and attached because of how much attention the show pays to both the joke and the story. this is a show that has a lot of heart, it feels like those people are your family in a world of your own creation. I did not like Community when I first watched it because I did not know any of the actors other than Alison Brie and of course Chevy Chase and i did not finish the pilot because I was watching it while i was attending to a family commitment and escaped to my bedroom to watch it, but a while later I got back to it  and watched the first season with appetite,then went back and re watched it. to this day i watch an episode of Community daily and every time I enjoy it more.

there must be people who are O.K about Community, you might not be as crazy as I am about it but is it possible you will allow it fade into TV oblivion? Community is not the type of show the coddles the audience and spells every single details for them, it respects its audience intelligence and even if you are not a TV nerd and you don’t understand some refrences that are made you will still laugh ate the joke because it works on both levels. The cast and crew are committed into making this show their pride work and when watching it you feel that energy and love that the cast and crew has for it’s own show.

I’ve been reading some terrifying and reassuring predictions on the internet, some think show will air it’s 22 episodes then go under, other predict that the show will be dropped by NBC and be picked up by another network or even it’ll go on cable. Some are reassuring themselves with the theory that NBC is benching Community to give Whitney a chance and if it tanks Community will be aired on Wednesdays in a more friendly time slot (it airs 8 pm on a Thursday and competes with The Big Bang Theory,the X Factor and The Vampire Diaries) which is a theory I am good with because Community needs to get away from The Big Bang Theory.

I really hope this is not the beginning of the end for Community because it does not deserve it, it is different from what TV has to offer but not alien and though NBC has backed up this show for 2 seasons I think it just needs to do more. here are some articles and websites that are trying to save Community if you care to take a look and please do.

1. Sign a petition to save the show http://www.save-community.com/

2. A very heart warminmg letter to NBC http://www.aoltv.com/2011/11/15/community-save-greendale-letter-to-nbc/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

3.  a photo petiton to save Community http://welovecommunity.tumblr.com/

4. Sign a petition to save the show http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/sixseasonsandamovie/

5. Email NBC to let the network know what you think  http://www.nbc.com/contact/general/

I will leave with this, if you make a little effort to save this show you’ll make a lot of people very happy so please help as much as possible to get this show back on the air.

thank you,

A Community fan who just wants her show back

About lonestarjrs

Primary teacher who loves TV like crazy. I watch more TV a week than anyone i know. I usually have crazy pairings on TV that no one sees but me and a good eye for spoilers. Twitter account :http://twitter.com/#!/lonestarjrs

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Pop culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have a petition to save community as well and if you would like a link to my page emali me

Leave a Reply

